From the discovery of electricity and Morse code, to fibre optics and future technology, our award-winning museum combines the wonder of science with amazing histories and tales of human endeavour from around the globe, right here where the story of communications began.
From its construction in 1904, Eastern House was at the heart of the Porthcurno telegraph station site. After World War Two the building was refurbished, extended, and opened as a training school. In 1970, exactly 100 years after the arrival of the first cable, the telegraph station closed, but the training school remained open until 1993.
Today Eastern House forms a major part of the PK Porthcurno experience. Its spacious gallery houses a series of interactive exhibits and displays which illustrate the story of our communications revolution, while in our demonstration zone staff discuss and demonstrate some of the museum’s original working equipment.
Secret World War Two Bunker
Go underground and explore the top-secret bunker that hid the Porthcurno Telegraph Station in World War Two, where Allied communications were protected by armed guards and bomb-proof doors.
Find out how the war transformed the valley and the lives of the people who lived and worked here. Come and see the unexploded bomb that fell on a Porthcurno farm and hear stories of the Cable and Wireless staff who worked at Porthcurno and at cable stations around the world. Find out about the daring work needed to keep cableships operating and discover the important role telegrams played in the war.
Our Grade II listed underground telegraphy station includes an automated relay system and wireless room, and a door to the bunker’s secret escape tunnel – 120 steps hewn through solid granite, built in case the telegraph station was invaded by enemy forces.
The Cable Hut
Please note: The Cable Hut’s doors are closed for the winter season
The Cable Hut stands just above the sandy beach at Porthcurno. Built-in 1929, this modest little building is where undersea telegraph cables came ashore from all corners of the world.
The Cable Hut is the only one of its kind complete with original features and fittings and contains the largest collection of historic telegraph cables and termination boxes in the world.
Enjoy one of our expert talks when museum staff explain and demonstrate some of the museum’s original working equipment.